Groupie
United States
Joined 4610 days ago

65 posts - 129 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, French
Studies: Portuguese

Message 337 of 346
11 November 2012 at 4:33pm | IP Logged 
For me, the last languages I would want to learn are Dutch and Kazakh.

I don't like how Dutch sounds, don't plan on going to the Netherlands, and know that many Dutch people speak
excellent English. I am already learning Swedish, which is similar to Dutch in this case.

For Kazakh, I have to say that Central Asia is probably the only part of the world that doesn't interest me -
desolate landscapes, extremely distant, I have never met anyone from the smaller "stans" and even if I did, it is
likely they would speak Russian (which I plan on returning to) or English.

I am tempted to put German on this list, for some of the same reasons as Dutch. However, I studied German for
six years in middle school and high school and it seems like hundreds of hours of class time would go to waste,
as well as a language that could be a good auxiliary language. Perhaps it's best not to go back to a language
because I "should" learn it again?
1 person has voted this message useful

zerrubabbel
United States
Joined 4395 days ago

232 posts - 287 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, Mandarin

Message 338 of 346
12 November 2012 at 11:42am | IP Logged 
any dead language... it just seems like a waste of my time to learn a language that people dont speak... so off that
basis, the languages I do want to learn have many speakers, and many opportunities to practice and converse

Eternica
Triglot
United States
Joined 4867 days ago

24 posts - 74 votes 
Speaks: Cantonese, English*, French
Studies: Hungarian, Spanish

Message 339 of 346
13 November 2012 at 9:07am | IP Logged 
I think this is a potentially good topic since this helps you set your priorities
straight (especially when you want to learn every single language in the world). Of