Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

Josquin’s Language Symphony (RU, IR, 東亜)

Language Learning Forum : Language Learning Log Post Reply
646 messages over 81 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 73 ... 80 81 Next >>
Emme
Triglot
Italy
Joined 5141 days ago

980 posts - 1594 votes 
Speaks: Italian*, English, German
Studies: Russian, Swedish, French

Message 577 of 646
01 January 2015 at 8:32pm | IP Logged 
I wish you all the best for a fantastic 2015, possibly with less drama both online and off!

Solfrid Cristin wrote:
[...] And if you have some tips on what to do as an absolute beginner of Japanese, I am all ears :-)

Me too!!!    ;-)   
Oh oh! I just said I shouldn't start a new language in the new year. Maybe I could just pretend that my previous dabbling means that Japanese is not really a new language. Whom am I kidding? :-D
1 person has voted this message useful

Josquin
Heptaglot
Germany
Joined 4638 days ago

2266 posts - 3992 votes 
Speaks: German*, English, French, Latin, Italian, Russian, Swedish
Studies: Japanese, Irish, Portuguese, Persian

Message 578 of 646
02 January 2015 at 1:59pm | IP Logged 
Thank you, guys! You're, as always, the best! I also hope for a less dramatic year than in 2014.

For Japanese, I can highly recommend Genki, although you should be seriously interested in the language. It requires you to learn the kana syllabaries right from the beginning and teaches the first kanji in unit 3. If you're more interested in spoken or even tourist Japanese, an audio-based method like Pimsleur or Michel Thomas would probably be much better.

Also, you may have noticed that I have renamed the log. I thought the new title reflects my two main interests, music and languages, quite nicely.

Emme
Triglot
Italy
Joined 5141 days ago

980 posts - 1594 votes 
Speaks: Italian*, English, German
Studies: Russian, Swedish, French

Message 579 of 646
02 January 2015 at 4:22pm | IP Logged 
Josquin wrote:
Also, you may have noticed that I have renamed the log.