Triglot
Italy
Joined 5135 days ago

980 posts - 1594 votes 
Speaks: Italian*, English, German
Studies: Russian, Swedish, French

Message 41 of 360
08 January 2011 at 5:35pm | IP Logged 
As I anticipated in the previous post, with the new year I intend to explore Japanese for some time (days, weeks, months? Who knows?) and see if I enjoy studying it and if it’s at all feasible with my busy schedule to pick up another language. Since joining the forum last spring, I’ve succeeded in staying focused on just two languages (Swedish and French). That’s why I think I now deserve a little reward consisting in some weeks of guilt-free dabbling in Japanese.

Where do I start from? Well, I’m an absolute beginner, even though I’ve learnt a handful of hiragana and some greetings over the years. In fact, Japanese together with Chinese, Spanish, and French (the latter before I started studying it in earnest last spring) have always been my go-to languages when I succumb to wanderlust.

What do I hope to achieve in the language? I don’t want to set myself any target, but just enjoy the journey while it lasts. Even if I decided to continue studying the language, I can’t see myself pursuing any kind of proficiency in Japanese (of course, I may change my mind if I fall madly in love with the language). Right now I just want to have a little fun and find out more about a language which is the most exotic of all the languages I’ve studied so far.