Joined 3553 days ago

66 posts - 96 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: German, Mandarin, Czech, French

Message 57 of 225
27 December 2014 at 10:03pm | IP Logged 
agta wrote:
I have a problem with our introductory challenge as I hasn't really read
any original German book or watch movies.

I'm in a similar position agta, as I haven’t really had much exposure to native materials
either.

The one notable exception that I can think of at the moment is the poem Der Erlkönig. I
discovered this very shortly after I started learning German and I loved it. One of the
first things that I did was to take this poem apart. It was obviously above my level at
the time but I wanted to learn it badly enough that the extra time that I needed to put
into studying it didn’t bother me. It remains one of my favourite poems (even now I still
know it off by heart).
1 person has voted this message useful

carlyd
Groupie
United States
Joined 3785 days ago

94 posts - 138 votes 
Studies: German, Spanish

Message 58 of 225
27 December 2014 at 10:21pm | IP Logged 
I looked on the Wikia and there's four team members in the A0-A1 category, so I hope there's some easy challenges for us as we gear up for a year of learning.

I can't name any "real" books or movies--yet--but for my fellow A1's I can recommend Café in Berlin as your first book to read, and then the Felix und Theo series when you're closer to full A1.

sabotai
United States
Joined 5678 days ago

391 posts - 489 votes 
Studies: German, Japanese, Korean, French

Message 59 of 225
27 December 2014 at 10:56pm | IP Logged 
Introductory Challenge

Music