Germany
radiant-flux.net
Joined 4329 days ago

1546 posts - 3200 votes 
Studies: German

Message 97 of 225
10 January 2015 at 2:40pm | IP Logged 
Nieng Zhonghan wrote:

Does anyone know whether I can achieve a good passive A1 level knowledge at the end of
Assimil German With Ease? I am considering here A1 grammar patterns and vocabulary.

I am studying with both Assimil and Germanpod101.com, but what do you think about
adding Hugo in 3 months or any of DW's courses (Mission in Berlin, Radio D Teil 1
and Deutsch Interaktiv)?

A friend of mine said I can borrow from him Lagune, Begegnungen and some other
textbooks as well.

I haven't done any courses, but everyone generally says that you'll get to high-A2, perhaps B1, with Assimil. People also say (Gemuse I'm looking at you!) that Hugo is a good compliment for grammar (you need only the book) as Assimil is a bit grammar light.

I am not sure you really need to be doing any more courses, but then that's a phobia of mine. :)

Unlike most courses, I think Assimil does get you some useful vocabulary, but it might be worth thinking about ways of trying to actively supplement this (e.g., Anki, graded readers, starting to watch native shows...).

1 person has voted this message useful

carlyd
Groupie
United States
Joined 3785 days ago

94 posts - 138 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: German, Spanish

Message 98 of 225
11 January 2015 at 7:45pm | IP Logged 
I was reading a thread somewhere on this site about the difficulties of getting TV shows in another country because of blocking. I don't recall where the thread was.

I received this blog link from FluentU specifically about all the ways to receive German tv shows and movies if you're outside of Germany, and thought it might be useful to the team members.