laoshu505000
United States
Joined 5575 days ago

121 posts - 232 votes 
Speaks: English*

Message 17 of 221
23 December 2008 at 9:58am | IP Logged 
Hello Professor,

Thanks for your reply. I'm glad to be here also. I felt flattered reading most of the comments despite there being a few negative ones. I've noticed a few envious posts about my journey on learning languages. I just wanted to say that I'm sorry those posters feel the way they feel. Although they've said some pretty negative things about me, I'm still welcoming them to become friends. I just want to keep the peace and make friends with other people who cherish languages the way I do.

Yea, in your last post, you were pretty accurate about the languages I study. There're more that aren't in your list, but that's fine. They will come up later.

My major is indeed Chinese at the Ohio State University;however, I didn't study the language there. I took one advanced Chinese class and that was pretty much it. It was a spontaneous speaking class which I found to be very interesting.I was able to take placement testings for receiving EM credit for the courses I didn't have to take hence, being pretty much done with my major. I started school at the age of 22 which makes me a senior in college.

I basically learn language out of passion. Many people have other reasons such as, working for the government or just learning due to their heritage, but I just do it as a hobby pretty much. I would like become a professor/teacher of language. I didn't think I would be able to teach what I learn, but I've been doing it a bit now and I guess I'm getting better and better.