Bilingual Triglot
United States
Joined 3422 days ago

16 posts - 19 votes
Speaks: English*, Mandarin*, Cantonese
Studies: Russian

Message 1 of 24
31 December 2014 at 11:52pm | IP Logged 
It has been over two decades since I studied Russian. This year will be a new beginning. My goals are (1) acquisition of 3000 words, learning 10 words a day, (2) ability to watch Russian movies, such as "The Irony of Fate" without subtitles, (3) constant improvement, by the end of next year.

For the past week, I have finished "Pronounce It Perfectly In Russian" and 11 lessons of phonetics from "Le russe à votre rythme". I am thinking of tackling "Корректировочный курс фонетики русского языка" but I do not have the time to devote to correct pronunciation. There are soft and hard consonants that I am unable to differenciate. As of right now, it is sufficient for me.

Two resources I am using are "Assimil Le russe sans peine" and "Modern Russian". I have heard raved reviews about Assimil, especially this edition for Russian.

I just hope that I will accomplish my goals without stopping.

1 person has voted this message useful

Belle Epoque
Bilingual Triglot
United States
Joined 3422 days ago

16 posts - 19 votes

Message 2 of 24
10 January 2015 at 8:23pm | IP Logged 
I have complete 10 lessons of "Assimil le russe sans peine." With the help of WorkBookAudio software, I am able to segment a 2-minute lessons into numerous 3 to 5-second segments allowing me to rewind and repeat easily. I would repeat each sentence 5 to 7 times or until I can pronounce it with ease. In addition, any new vocabulary word is incorporated in Anki, and if I am able to remember the vocabulary, I immediately delete from the Anki list. Concerning "Modern Russian" it is heavily concentrated on gaining automaticity, so after the first 2 lessons I have finished, I can say the phrases I have learned quite well without much mental effort.

Марк
Russian Federation
Joined 4845 days ago

2096 posts - 2972 votes