4 sounds
Speaks: Spanish*, Catalan*
Studies: English

Message 25 of 47
26 January 2011 at 3:22pm | IP Logged 
Cammela wrote:
slucido wrote:
Cammela wrote:
His method doesn't appeal to me because he had a terrible accent, he isn't a model of excellence;D

What accent are you talking about?

His Mandarin seems native. This is his stronger language and he learned Mandarin using this method.

I'm not a polyglot, I have been studying mandarin for 2 years without big results ;D , but of one thing I'm sure, his French, Italian and Spanish accent are atrocious. And these are simple languages...

I don't like this forum because you are destroying all my heroes.

3 persons have voted this message useful

Elagabalus
Diglot
United States
Joined 4990 days ago

12 posts - 30 votes
Speaks: English*, PortugueseC1
Studies: Mandarin, German, Russian, French

Message 26 of 47
28 January 2011 at 1:24am | IP Logged 
Quote:
I'm not a polyglot, I have been studying mandarin for 2 years without big results ;D , but of one thing I'm sure, his French, Italian and Spanish accent are atrocious. And these are simple languages...

He definitely does comes off to me as wooden in Spanish, which is rather odd considering all his ear training. But, at issue here is the method, not him as a practitioner of the method.

To that end, my question would be about the type of sentences to choose for the 10,000 sentences. It seemed like random ones or, at least, I don't recall anything stipulating the criteria for selecting them or grading them by structure or in some progression. In short, I question what appears to be a purely mechanical procedure. Learning a language cannot be solely about repetition and other memory training techniques.
2 persons have voted this message useful

slucido
Bilingual Diglot
Spain
https://goo.gl/126Yv
Joined 6471 days ago

1296 posts - 1781 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Spanish*, Catalan*
Studies: English

Message 27 of 47
28 January 2011 at 8:06am | IP Logged 
Elagabalus wrote: