United States
justpaste.it/Mohave1
Joined 3806 days ago

291 posts - 444 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: French

Message 9 of 24
04 January 2015 at 1:47pm | IP Logged 
Bienvenue et Bonne Chance! I'm also looking forward to following your progress in French on the log (and
perhaps Dutch)! Thanks for the recommendation on the Anki deck with vocab for modern life/politics. One of
my specific goals is to increase my vocabulary size so I will definitely look into that deck and see if it is on
target.
2 persons have voted this message useful

Elenia
Diglot
United Kingdom
lilyonlife.blog
Joined 3655 days ago

239 posts - 327 votes 
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: German, Swedish, Esperanto

Message 10 of 24
04 January 2015 at 2:23pm | IP Logged 
I will be following your log, and wishing good luck. I'm currently studying French (at
university), and I hope to be able to pick up Dutch at some point this year. I admire
your determination to take grammar to task, hopefully you'll rub off on me!

plumbem!
Groupie
United States
Joined 3432 days ago

44 posts - 72 votes 
Studies: Dutch, French

Message 11 of 24
04 January 2015 at 10:11pm | IP Logged 
Thanks to everyone for the support! TEAM FRENCH!

I am going to write a recap once a week in evernote and post it if I have internet.Hopefully
this won't be too much (!) but its as much for me to reflect on what I've done and what I
need to do the next week.

This week has gone absolutely not according to plan (as set forth in my first post) but was
excellent nonetheless.

It is the first time where I have put considerable work into French and Dutch at the same
time and it has been interesting. It has also created some awkward situations with mixing,
and slower than usual response time in conversation but, has also shown me some parallels
between them and allowed me to get a little more meta with the sounds of each (in an
experiential/experimental sense, no books yet).