Diglot
United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5329 days ago

235 posts - 453 votes 
Speaks: English*, German
Studies: Dutch, Norwegian, Japanese

Message 1 of 19
27 December 2013 at 10:01pm | IP Logged 
For 2014's Total Annihilation Challenge (which is my first) I will be attempting to learn
Japanese and Dutch. I'm a beginner in both languages but have taken one semester of
Japanese before (though it was years ago) and have picked up and put down studying
Japanese for off and on for years. I also have a background in German which should make
Dutch less difficult.

I am starting at an A0 with Japanese and would like to end up at B1 or A2+. I am also
starting at A0 in Dutch and would like to end up A2. I intend on spending more time on
Japanese than Dutch but Dutch will likely be the easier language because of how close it
is to both German and English. In reality the real challenge in this upcoming year's TAC
will be not dropping one or both of the languages.

1 person has voted this message useful

aokoye
Diglot
Joined 5329 days ago

235 posts - 453 votes 

Message 2 of 19
28 December 2013 at 5:45am | IP Logged 
As I said in my first post, I have studied Japanese off and on for a number of years.
Though my level has stayed about the same (as can be expected due to the time between
periods of study), I have amassed a sizable collection of textbooks including Genki 1
(1st ed), Japanese for Everyone, and Total Japanese (by Okano Kimiko et al - though
I'm missing the audio which is a real bummer).

After a bit of trial and error earlier this winter I decided on using Genki 1 and
Kanji Look and Learn
as well as the workbooks for both. Kanji Look and Learn is published by Japan Times and
can be used as a kanji supplement for Genki 1/2 or likely any other beginning Japanese
textbook. The book covers 512 individual kanji and also lists additional
useful/important vocabulary words. The workbook that goes along with it contains