Pentaglot
United States
Joined 5327 days ago

31 posts - 56 votes 
Speaks: Spanish, English*, Dutch, Portuguese, Afrikaans
Studies: French, German, Italian, Russian, Norwegian, Japanese, Scottish Gaelic

Message 105 of 121
19 July 2010 at 11:33pm | IP Logged 
Two days ago, I was on a cruise packed with people from all corners of the world. It was the first time that I had ever heard all of the languages that I'm studying, plus many more and some I couldn't identify in such a short period of time.

English

Most passengers on the ship were American or Canadian.

Spanish

We were traveling with my friends from Spain. They don't speak English that well and I prefer to talk to them in Spanish anyway, so I ended up actually speaking more Spanish than English on the trip as a whole. They are about my age (I'm 15 and they're 14 and 12), so I got the chance to hear a lot of new Spanish slang. Several of the crew members were also from Chile, and seeing us speak Spanish addressed us in Spanish as well.

Dutch

There were about 30 Dutch people on board and I was excited to hear dutch spoken in a natural setting.

Afrikaans

The girl who worked in the gift shop was Afrikaans and whenever I got bored, I would visit her shop and we would talk in Afrikaans and Dutch. She also knew quite a bit about grammar and helped me with a lot of questions I had.

Tagalog and Cebuano

Most of the crew was from the Philippines and spoke either Tagalog or Cebuano (I only know because I asked). I'm sure that I also heard a whole host of other languages from The Philippines being spoken, but I'm just not familiar enough with them to identify them or tell them apart.

Hindi and other Indian languages/dialects
A lot of Indian staff as well. I'm fairly certain that most of them were speaking Hindi, but I'm sure that I heard a lot of other Indian languages too.

German and French

Lots of German and French tourists on board.

Mandarin, Japanese, and Korean