Language Learning Forum : Language Learning Log Post Reply
40 messages over 5 pages: 1 24 5  Next >>
magic9man2
Diglot
United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 6415 days ago

149 posts - 153 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese
Studies: Arabic (Written), Mandarin, French, Cantonese, Russian, Korean, Taiwanese, Arabic (Levantine)

Message 17 of 40
25 December 2007 at 7:52pm | IP Logged 
You're making good, steady progress. You should try to stick with just one language more though lol. GL with furthered studies
1 person has voted this message useful

reineke
United States
https://learnalangua
Joined 6233 days ago

851 posts - 1008 votes 
Studies: German

Message 18 of 40
07 February 2008 at 6:01pm | IP Logged 
Played with Japanese, Russian, Italian and German. Japanese mostly vocabulary, and "Learn Basic Japanese". German and Italian mostly movies. I have "sampled" so much Russian that I might as well say I'm studying it.

reineke
United States
Joined 6233 days ago

851 posts - 1008 votes 

Message 19 of 40
07 March 2008 at 12:34am | IP Logged 
A lot of Russian. Vocabulearn, random reading, often just titles of well-known classics and book reviews. Some listening. I saw several children's movies, Ilya Muromets etc and a crime miniseries Brigada. Picture dictionary. I should do some Pimsleur... Hmgrmble.

German - movies, documentaries. A pinch of French - watched an entire animated series. Italian - very little.

Japanese - ALMOST NOTHING. Vocabulearn.

Spanish - bought more material. The DK picture dictionary and two collections of children's stories.

May 2-4 2008
Oxford Picture Dictionary, Vocabulearn, Pimsleur, Teach Yourself Russian Grammar, a limited number of Russian movies repeated ad nauseam, children's books, picture books etc. and young adult literature. Internet Radio. Very limited time. Unlimited willingness to cut corners.