18 messages over 3 pages: 1 2 3  Next >>
Tyrion101
United States
Joined 3672 days ago

153 posts - 174 votes 
Speaks: French

Message 1 of 18
21 December 2015 at 6:57pm | IP Logged 
Why is it that some languages stick in our heads better than others? That's my question. Is it a matter of love, a matter of quality time spent with it? Or what? Some things I learned years and years ago for classical music I have never forgotten even though I've only seen them a handful of times. (As a classical musician you often have to learn various directions in various European languages, and yeah I'm a classical musician.)
1 person has voted this message useful

mrwarper
Diglot
Winner TAC 2012
Spain
forum_posts.asp?TID=Registered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4985 days ago

1493 posts - 2500 votes 
Speaks: Spanish*, EnglishC2
Studies: German, Russian, Japanese

Message 2 of 18
21 December 2015 at 10:38pm | IP Logged 
I think that's quite a bold statement. Sure, we all remember some things better than others, with only a few of us even taking notice that it's so. I personally hold the view that memory evolves through life stages and works slightly differently over time, so almost everything sticks at young ages, whereas by the time you reach adulthood strong biases and filters appear, and only things that you deem interesting in one way or another stand a chance to stick, while 'dull' stuff simply won't.

Maybe that's how it's supposed to work for evolutionary reasons, maybe really only a few people have a memory which works like that, and anyway my necessarily biased observations of my own mental processes are all the evidence I have, so I don't really know.