Australia
Joined 4498 days ago

5 posts - 7 votes
Speaks: English*, Tetum
Studies: Indonesian, Portuguese

Message 1 of 10
26 May 2015 at 6:54pm | IP Logged 
Hi guys

My name is James and I'm a student of Linguistics in Australia. I am currently living
in Indonesia and have been studying an immersion programme here in a city called
Yogyakarta since February. I am either leaving next month or may stay for another 6 if
I can get my home university to approve it.

I speak Tetun from Timor-Leste quite well after living there for quite some time and
actively taking an interest in the study of it, as well as speaking it in all aspects
of my daily life while living in places with no other English speakers. I really like
speaking Tetun and it comes easily to me although I still have a fair way to go in
fleshing out certain areas of my vocabulary.

I have an interest in Portuguese because I think it's damn beautiful and because
there's so much of it in Tetun. I can understand written Portuguese at a basic level
and continue to work on it with a combination of programs. I lived with some
Portuguese speakers in Timor-Leste for a while and there is a family connection to
Portugal.

Hoping to maintain my inspiration and motivation to improve upon Indonesian and
Portuguese with other speakers here and surprised at the breadth of languages that
people have an interest in! How great. It's a pleasure.

Look forward to reading your posts!

Cheers,

James
1 person has voted this message useful

Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6378 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 2 of 10
26 May 2015 at 7:31pm | IP Logged