misskj
United States
Joined 4111 days ago

28 posts - 38 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, Korean

Message 1 of 3
16 February 2015 at 10:37am | IP Logged 
Hi! I'm Kelsey, or Kel for short. To be honest I have been reading this forum for at least 2 years I think
but I've never been the type to make topics or post on forums. But this past year I've met another
passionate language learner and talking with him helps motivate me and It's reassuring and just nice
to have someone with similar interests and passions when it comes to languages. So I thought why
not start getting involved in this awesome site full of amazing language learners from around the
world.

I was thinking the TAC might be something that would interest me. Is it too late for me to sign up? (Or
maybe I should post these questions in the thread other there).

Well anyway a little bit about me. I'm a college student right now. I've been studying Japanese
intensively for 4 years now. RTK(Remembering the Kanji), sentence mining method + total immersion,
Anki, memrise, lang-8, grammar books and took a few elementary Japanese classes at my school
(which did not help btw). Right now I can comfortably read daily-life novels like Murakami Haruki (I'm
reading ノルウェイの森 right now). I've been reviewing N3 grammar and started studying N2 grammar.
(Though I've never taken the JPLT so I don't really know which level I am at.) Can kinda watch anime
or j dramas depending on the terminology.. I can text chat in Japanese pretty well. Speaking I'm
pretty bad but I've been working on that..Started skyping every week for at least an hour in
Japanese.

The other language I started studying is Korean. I'm going to study abroad to Korea next year so I'm
really excited to start learning Korean. My Korean study habits are all over the place. I keep changing
my "method" unlike what I did in Japanese. Hopefully I can get some advice from you language