United States
Joined 3383 days ago

14 posts - 21 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Russian, French

Message 1 of 15
15 January 2015 at 2:35am | IP Logged 
Salut & привет!

This is my first journal entry for TAC 2015.

I've had a passion for languages for many years and have studied several over that time period.
Unfortunately, despite all my dabbling in languages I've never achieved a proficient level in them.
Technically my first non-native language was Hebrew which I studied some as a child, but I didn't study it
for long and have since forgotten everything but the alphabet. I had a Cuban teacher in elementary school
who began teaching us Spanish which is really where my language path began. I studied Spanish technically
for about 6-7 years, but that was in Middle School/High School classes which were not too effective at
making the language useful. In college, i took a few semesters of Italian, a semester of Latin, and a year of
French. In hindsight, I wish I had majored or at least minored in languages in college. But since I didn't, I'm
now trying to develop competency on my own.

My ultimate goal is proficiency in at least 5 languages (French, Russian, Italian, Spanish, and German).
While Italian is my favorite living language (Latin is my favorite overall I think), I've opted to begin my self-
studies on French and Russian due to perhaps being more useful. While Spanish would obviously be the
most useful as an American, my interest in Spanish is less than French, Italian, and Russian so I will likely
revisit that after my French is more solid.

My goals for this year are to achieve a fairly strong command of French (hopefully B1-B2), including being
able to read newspapers, easy books, watch my favorite shows/movies, and carry on a normal conversation.
Russian will clearly take me a long time to get a grasp on. I'm just hoping to expand my vocabulary,
conquer basic grammar, and maybe read some very simple books.