United Kingdom
rdearman.orgRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4996 days ago

881 posts - 1812 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Italian, French, Mandarin

Message 9 of 60
18 January 2015 at 12:48am | IP Logged 
Welcome to the Forum BTW. I have a couple of Italian books if you want.

:)

1 person has voted this message useful

Meddysong
Triglot
Groupie
United Kingdom
timeofftakeoff.com
Joined 3367 days ago

56 posts - 84 votes 
Speaks: English*, Esperanto, French
Studies: Italian, Catalan
Studies: Swedish

Message 10 of 60
18 January 2015 at 11:14am | IP Logged 
Thank you! I have a stash of Italian books that I bought when on holiday in Sardinia last year with the intention of reading them in 2015. I've read a couple already but still have maybe six to go.

I suppose I should write something on the language-related books I've read this year, come to think of it. Some of it seems quite lowbrow, but I love Asterix and learned a tonne of Esperanto from them when I was a beginner, so I've continued to buy them in different languages (or have them bought for me, since it was Christmas recently).

Two have bitten the dust so far this year, both in French: Asterix et le chaudron et Le devin. I loved them both, which doesn't surprise me at all.

I can't say the same about the French translation of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca, which I started at the end of last year. Goodness me - when will something happen? Why should I care about the protagonist? I've just got past the half-way mark and am a stubborn man, so I'll finish it, but probably at the pace of three of four chapters a week.

It took me a while to get into Dieci piccoli indiani, an Italian translation of Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None, but things picked up and it became a page-turner towards the end.