Finland
Joined 3393 days ago

1 posts - 3 votes
Speaks: Finnish*, English
Studies: Spanish

Message 1 of 2
09 January 2015 at 7:08am | IP Logged 
Hello from Finland :)

Happy to be here at last. I've been experiencing extreme slowness with the forum when using Chrome, but now I tried Firefox and that seemed to solve it.

So about myself. I'm a 38-year old guy from Finland and my only fluent second language at the moment is English. I started learning it when I was about ten; I got really interested in role-playing games (like D&D) at that point, but all the books were in English. So I had my mother buy me the rulebooks and a dictionary and started reading from page one, looking up every word I didn't know. Pretty soon I was way ahead of everybody else on my class, and English has been really easy for me ever since. I guess I learned it so fast because I was: 1)very young, 2)really motivated and interested in the material I was studying.

Being Finnish I've also had to study Swedish as a second language in school. But as usual, when it's compulsory, you tend not to learn it too well. Actually, I'm technically what you call a "Finland's Swede", part of the large Swedish minority in Finland, but unfortunately my father only started talking Swedish to me when I was quite old (I'm not sure how old exactly, but I can personally remember a few instances, so maybe 4 or something?), so I would just go mute on him or run away or something because it felt so weird. I can understand Swedish quite well, I recently attended a political seminar in Sweden, and although it took a lot of concentration I could pretty much follow the main subjects and issues they were talking about. I should just start activating speaking it, and I guess it wouldn't take too long to get fluent, but I just lack the motivation to do that...