Groupie
Norway
Joined 4377 days ago

75 posts - 146 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, English, German, Spanish
Studies: Czech, Mandarin

Message 1 of 7
28 December 2014 at 3:02pm | IP Logged 
With a new year waiting just around the corner,it will be fun to try something new. Two or three new things, in
fact.

First of all, this is my first attempt at keeping a log here. I’m signing up for TAC 2015 with Mandarin, so that will
be my main learning focus. However, it’s also important to me to keep improving my other languages, so I will
also talk about them sometimes. I’m not signing up for TAC in more than one language, though, so let’s talk
about that one in this first post:

Mandarin will be be my first serious attempt at a non-Indoeuropean language, as well as the first time I’m
going to start a new language from scratch by myself. As you can see, that's another couple of new things, then.
My main goal at this time can probably be summed up as "get started and keep going" - for now this is way more
important to me than getting to a certain skill level in a certain amount of time.

In addition to starting a new language, there is of course also another challenge here - the one that is about
developing my own learning habits, staying motivated and finding out what works and doesn’t work for me. Right
now I’m excited about both things, and that’s why I don’t have a very detailed plan for my learning. I’m mostly
using online resources for now, and I keep finding helpful and fun stuff in various places. However, I’m also
planning to work through the Michel Thomas Foundation course, then possibly other titles in the same series if it
turns out that the method works well for me. I also bought a book to start familiarizing myself with the
characters a while ago, and I’m planning to use that in combination with this website.

Also, if you wonder why I would like to start learning Mandarin, I have a couple of main motivations. First of all,