Germany
Joined 3523 days ago

5 posts - 6 votes
Speaks: German*, English, DutchC1
Studies: French, Spanish, Modern Hebrew

Message 1 of 7
26 August 2014 at 12:39pm | IP Logged 
Hi everyone,

I'm happy that I found this forum, I already found a few inspiring topics and it's really good to motivate me even more.

I was always interested in learning languages and/or other countries and cultures.

My first foreign language was English. I studied English a few years at school and always had British & American friends to actively speak.

At school I also had to study Latin, that wasn't really a great choice for me, I never liked it...obviously I wasn't really good.

I always adored the sound of French and finally in my early twenties I was able to spend 8 weeks in Paris and taking a language class. Learning French was pretty "easy", maybe because I really enjoyed it. At the end of my time there, I was able to communicate with only French, read books, follow movies.
Unfortunately I went back to Germany and didn't stick to it and over the years I forgot nearly everything. I can understand and read most of it, but speaking is a problem. Actually I try to get back my French :)

A few years ago I had the chance to move to the Netherlands. I didn't speak one word of Dutch, but told all my co-workers there not to speak English & German to me from the first day. As German is my native language, Dutch was not difficult to learn and after the first month I was able to understand most of it and have conversations. After 3 month I was nearly fluent. Except in writing...I'm still bad at this...

I spent 4 years in the Netherlands and during that time I used English & Dutch every day. English with clients at work, Dutch with co-workers and friends. Sometimes I didn't speak, read or hear German for days and I was dreaming in all 3 languages which was a little scary.