FelixKatze
United Kingdom
Joined 3955 days ago

20 posts - 23 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: German

Message 1 of 14
04 February 2014 at 9:31pm | IP Logged 
I started learning German 23rd of June 2013. Apologies if this post is hard to read, I wasn't sure how best to arrange it. This is what I've done so far, in no particular order:

a) Assimil German with Ease (completed, will use for shadowing in the near future).

b) FSI German, which I completed but I rushed through the second volume, as I couldn't bear leaving it unfinished, but also could no longer stand using this course which I hated so much.

c) Living German (1950's edition), which I finished though didn't use the exercises as my used copy is missing the answer key.

d) Duolingo, completed tree.

e) English Grammar for Students of German, completed.

f) Deutsch, Warum nicht? podcasts, I'm currently near the end of the 3rd series.

g) Anki, into which I'm inputting Langenscheidt's Basic German Vocabulary, with audio grabbed from Forvo. Downloading all those pronunciation files one-by-one is beyond mindnumbing, I'd be interested to hear whether others think including native audio for all my cards is worth the extra effort?

I also listen to German music, read, and watch episodes of Fokus Deutsch. I'd say my current level is about A2 overall, I'm participating in the 6WC here, and these are the things I'm currently working on, or will be soon:

h) Essential German Grammar - Martin Durell, et al

i) Schaum's Outline of German Grammar

j) Using German: A Guide to Contemporary Usage - Martin Durell

k) Teach Yourself German (1955 printing), which should be a relative quickie at this point, just for revision.

l) Books + audiobooks

m) Lang-8

Plus, I'll continue to use Anki (which I've only just started, really), Duolingo, and Deutsch, Warum nicht?. In the less near future, I'll add GLOSS, and Hammer's Grammar, at some point.

I welcome any questions, comments, or advice!