Diglot
United KingdomRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5772 days ago

1485 posts - 2002 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese
Studies: French, German

Message 25 of 142
25 January 2014 at 3:24pm | IP Logged 
@Sunja have you never noticed this happening with native speakers too? I guess it was most obvious when I was a university student, and my friends would return to university after the long summer vacation with strong regional accents, which would dissipate over the course of the semester.

Some people are born with a natural talent for accents. I envy them. But just as I made do in music without perfect pitch, I think I can make do in language without "perfect accent". It's not an excuse not to work at it, but so long as people aren't wincing at my clumsy French, I know I'm heading in the right direction...
1 person has voted this message useful

Sunja
Diglot
Germany
Joined 5875 days ago

2020 posts - 2295 votes 
1 sounds
Speaks: English*, German
Studies: French, Mandarin

Message 26 of 142
25 January 2014 at 4:05pm | IP Logged 
g-bod wrote:
@Sunja have you never noticed this happening with native speakers too? I guess it was most obvious when I was a university student, and my friends would return to university after the long summer vacation with strong regional accents, which would dissipate over the course of the semester.

I've been away from English speakers too long to notice ;) I'm not so good as to be able to distinguish between Germans and their regional accents but I'm sure they slip in and out of them. Regional idiosyncrasies are the stuff of conversation here. I can't hear my accent at all and since I'm sensitive about it I enjoy getting feedback on it. The last comment was, "Ooh, hearing you makes me feel like I'm on holiday" which I try to accept as a nice thing :)

g-bod
Diglot
Joined 5772 days ago

1485 posts - 2002 votes 

Message 27 of 142
26 January 2014 at 11:32pm | IP Logged