kraemder
United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4994 days ago

1497 posts - 1648 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: German, Spanish, Japanese

Message 73 of 266
02 January 2014 at 3:17am | IP Logged 
Being new to Chinese I'd really be interested in whatever resources people are using including textbooks and dictionaries. I think Pleco on iPhone is pretty popular and I know about Remembering the Hanzi since I studied Japanese but those are the two resources I've got so far. Any other tips I'd appreciate. Oh, I also have PeraPera for firefox which is good - just not as good as rikai-sama for Japanese.
1 person has voted this message useful

nj24
Diglot
Groupie
United States
Joined 4473 days ago

56 posts - 106 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: Italian, French

Message 74 of 266
02 January 2014 at 6:18am | IP Logged 
I just created my language learning log. Here's the link:
http://how-to-learn-any-language.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?T ID=37727&PN=1

Ezy Ryder
Diglot
Poland
youtube.com/user/Kat
Joined 4159 days ago

284 posts - 387 votes 
Speaks: Polish*, English
Studies: Mandarin, Japanese

Message 75 of 266
02 January 2014 at 12:47pm | IP Logged 
@Kraemder Right now I'm using "Zhongwen Chinese popup dictionary". I actually think it's better
than 理解君, because it always shows also the definition (and reading, etc...) of the first
character, even if it's a part of an obvious compound; it includes people's names too; and sayings,
idioms (e.g., from the Analects).
Another dictionary I'm using (albeit more seldom) is Weblio. The main problems with it are 1.
you're more likely to find a translation if you type it in Simplified Chinese, and 2. the 中日日中 part
isn't as developed as the 英和和英 part. I mainly use it when I don't know the Japanese definition
of a word I'm learning, or don't understand the English definition.

PS.: Funny thing, when trying to remember "compound", I had to type it in Japanese and use 理