101 posts - 116 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, English
Studies: Japanese, Mandarin

Message 1 of 33
02 July 2013 at 11:17pm | IP Logged 
TAC 2014 start

My Japanese log

Hey everyone

Another Japanese learner here. I've wanted to start a log for a few months already, but being busy with
college postponed it until now. I've been studying Japanese on and off for about 5 years, but I'm still
stuck on a B1 level. I really started to improve about 1,5 years ago when I started to actively study the
language. I can read manga with a dictionary, understand simple anime, but light novels are still way
too hard for me. (I really lack the vocabulary for anything harder than manga) My goal is to be able to
enjoy native material without the need for any translation.

I've got summer vacation for three months that I want to use for intensive study. I attend evening
classes (3 hours a week), but it's really slow. It's more an environment to help me keep my motivation
than anything else. I've just finished the 4th year with ease which leaves you at a low B1 level. Sadly
there won't be a 5th year next year, only a 6th year. I've decided to use this summer to study all the
material I need to skip a year. (honestly, it's not that much)

I've been doing Heisig (frame 700) for the kanji and core 2k/6k (4643 left) in anki for the past few
months, but I kind of had to stop adding new cards during my finals. I plan on finishing these two
somewhere at the end of my summer vacation as I've seen a big improvement in my Japanese while I
was actively adding new cards.
Also decided to try the 1M Challenge - NHK News Easy & NHK News
(http://forum.koohii.com/viewtopic.php?id=11111) and see if it helps me with my reading.

I really lack at speaking, I haven't had many chances to actually converse with native speakers. (maybe 2
times?) I'm considering to look for a language exchange partner on skype somewhere at the end of my
summer vacation.