Austria
Joined 4322 days ago

82 posts - 87 votes 
Speaks: German*
Studies: English, Spanish

Message 1 of 49
26 December 2012 at 11:25pm | IP Logged 
Introduction

The aim of this log is to document my language journey and progress during the next year (2013). As it is my first
TAC I am a bit nervous, however I think that it is going to be a great experience being part of Team Romulan as
well as Team Mir.

Spanish

I have been learning Spanish since September 2011, that means for about 15 months now, as my first Romance
language. (Well, apart from that I had learned - and I am still learning- Latin before, which has really helped me a
lot concerning my general comprehension of the Romance language's system.) Actually it's my favorite foreign
language because it's both important and beautiful. In addition I am fascinated by the culture of the Hispanic
countries. That's why Spanish will be my main language for the next year .

Materials I'll use:

-Spanish Classes
-Langenscheidt's Vokabeltrainer
-magazines, books
-videos, films, music

Goal: I want to achieve a B2 whereas currently I am on a A2 I think.

Russian

In summer I got interested in Russian (my first Slavic language) and finally started learning it about one month ago
trying to read and write the alphabet and studying some basic words and constructions. I really like the language
because of its sound but also because of its culture.

Materials I'll use:

-Russian Classes
-Langenscheidt's Praktischer Sprachkurs Russisch
-Multimedial Computer Programmes

Goal: As my focus will be on Spanish I don't have very high goals but I'll try to achieve a good A1 or a low A2.

English

In addition to that I want to brush up my English skills. In my opinion I really have to do so because -as you
probably will have noticed- my English isn't that good, which is a bit strange considering that it is my first foreign
language and I have been learning it for about 5 years.