Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

French: Fresh, fun & effortless media

Language Learning Forum : Language Learning Log Post Reply
1317 messages over 165 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 41 ... 164 165 Next >>
Expugnator
Hexaglot
Brazil
Joined 4948 days ago

3335 posts - 4349 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, Norwegian, French, English, Italian, Papiamento
Studies: Mandarin, Georgian, Russian

Message 321 of 1317
12 December 2012 at 7:46pm | IP Logged 
emk, merci beaucoup de vos conseils. J'ai pris ma décision et j'ai écri quelque chose sur mon log, pour ne pas remplir le tien avec mes divagations =D
1 person has voted this message useful

emk
Diglot
United States
Joined 5314 days ago

2615 posts - 8806 votes 
Speaks: English*, FrenchB2
Studies: Spanish, Ancient Egyptian
Personal Language Map

Message 322 of 1317
12 December 2012 at 7:59pm | IP Logged 
geoffw wrote:
And yet, I started studying Italian just 2 weeks ago, and already I feel like I can understand the football announcers in Italian about as well as the ones in French!!! I think it's just objectively harder, especially as an English-speaker,
to translate reading skills in French into listening skills, compared to other languages (e.g., Spanish, Italian, German).

There might be some truth to this. Thanks to liaison and enchaînement, French syllable boundaries require some different parsing strategies than those in English and Italian. There's also those front rounded vowels and nasal vowels that English speakers don't expect, and they do a lot of work in distinguishing words in fast speech. In comparison, there aren't many sounds in Italian that are unfamiliar to English speakers. So I wouldn't be surprised if it takes a bit longer to reprogram our brains for French listening.