Joined 4578 days ago

614 posts - 782 votes 
Speaks: English*, Arabic (Egyptian)*
Studies: Russian, Japanese, Hungarian

Message 1 of 162
02 January 2012 at 9:33am | IP Logged 
Hi all!

EDIT: TAC 2014 ( my third year in TAC) starts page 18, message 142

I love anything to do with languages and cultures, in addition to a host of other
interests. I've been following this forum since September 2011 when i stumbled across
it through one of Professor Arguelles inspirational
and informative videos, and haven't looked back since. I don't usually participate on
forums for anything, but the passionate and dedicated ambience I get when reading logs
and posts is unmistakeable, so I decided to join. I discovered a lot of really useful
methods that ring true to me, and so i decided to seriously begin may long overdue
Japanese and Russian studies.

So, where do I start? I live in the US, I'm a graduate student, and I speak
both English and Arabic, and have studied French and German up to a low
intermediate level sporadically during middle school and
college. I've had a really bad experience with French classes (that's the language I
studied during middle school), and, at first, I really thought I disliked the language.
That was due to negative class instruction and sleep-inducing French teachers, not the
language, I later discovered. When I started college later, I wanted to seriously
resume studying a language, and have always been fascinated with German, and so I
enrolled in German classes for six months until I was ready to start at the
intermediate level. My experience was very positive with German, and I realized that
the reason I have been avoiding French was because of the
experience, not the language. I decided to give French a second shot, and, needless to
say, I'm glad I did. However, university and school work got in the way, and my
language studies fizzled and came to a halt. That was a few years ago.