Language Learning Forum : Questions About Your Target Languages Post Reply
fortheo
United States
Joined 4796 days ago

187 posts - 222 votes 
Studies: French

Message 1 of 6
10 February 2011 at 1:21am | IP Logged 
Hi, I just started learning Japanese a little while ago. I’ve been doing lessons on livemocha, listening to Japanese podcasts, and Japanese music to keep my exposure up. I also just finished learning the hiragana symbols. I’m just wondering where I should go from here. Should I focus on learning katakana or kanji now? Also when I start Kanji I was going to use the “Remembering the kanji” by James Heisig, but now I’m not to sure. When I start to read kanji I want to be able to pronounce the words in my head, but "Remembering the kanji" says not to focus on the sounds but just the meaning of the kanji.
     So basically I’m just hoping someone can point me in the right direction, and give me some kind of guideline for how to approach learning Japanese.

1 person has voted this message useful

TixhiiDon
Tetraglot
Japan
Joined 5224 days ago

772 posts - 1474 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese, German, Russian
Studies: Georgian

Message 2 of 6
10 February 2011 at 1:37am | IP Logged 
You should learn katakana after hiragana. A lot of people seem to neglect it, but it's
very important. At first you may be a little confused between hiragana and
katakana, but you will soon be able to tell the difference.

As for kanji, there are basically three groups of people: those who swear by Heisig,
those who hate his method, and those, like me, who somehow managed to study kanji for
years without once hearing his name. Try his method out to see if you like it. If you
don't there are plenty of other methods out there.

Definitely get comfortable with both hiragana and katakana first, though!

Edited by TixhiiDon on 10 February 2011 at 1:37am

2 persons have voted this message useful

ellasevia
Super Polyglot
Winner TAC 2011
Germany
Joined 5902 days ago