alang
Diglot
Canada
Joined 7008 days ago

563 posts - 757 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish

Message 17 of 19
07 March 2013 at 8:07am | IP Logged 
My time was three weeks in San Diego. I was a post beginner Esperantist, finishing the
E.L.N.A. postal course in four days before going to the program. Listening
comprehension intermediate and speaking was beginner, but very nervous speaking and it
seemed lower, than I thought.

The experience was great, as the person who I stayed with for one day before the
program was part of Pasporta Servo. She was patient with my Esperanto. I hit my stride
in one week and conversing regularly. I did a lot of work into it, as like all things
that is what it takes. I started to become more creative when I had to describe myself.
Three hours of class Monday to Friday. Optional excursions and presentations.

The language lab had other Esperanto books and I was shadowing and speaking "Jen Nia
Mondo" over and over on my own time. After the three weeks, I really felt there was no
way any other language, a person could be conversational compared to Esperanto.

There were other students in my post beginner class, that struggled, so each
individual varied. I was going to write about it, but I stopped Esperanto when I came
back to Canada later that year. I believe I hit basic fluency, but maintenance is
difficult. I am relearning it again and this time using this entire year to solidify
and strengthen everything.

At the time if you are a student or teacher, you can receive a discount with a
scholarship. There were no options for 1 or 2 weeks back then. I prefer the longer the
better for practice. It is much easier this time, as I have basic fluency in Spanish
and conversational in Brazilian Portuguese. I enjoyed it and do recommend the program.

I just found a site with links to other Esperanto Radio from different countries. I am
listening to the Chinese, Russian and Polish radios.

Here
4 persons have voted this message useful

Марк