United States
justpaste.it/kanewai
Joined 4648 days ago

1386 posts - 3054 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Marshallese
Studies: Italian, Spanish

Message 209 of 376
20 July 2011 at 10:56pm | IP Logged 
I find mine have changed over time as I've gotten better at learning languages.

In school I studied a lot of languages (Arabic, French, Latin), but never felt comfortable with any of them. I certainly learned a lot of rules, though.

In the Peace Corps I learned through immersion, and it was a breakthrough period for me ... I finally learned "how to learn" a language.

At first my favorite books were Teach Yourself and Living Language type books. I did quite well with these for learning Turkish and Bahasa, though I found I stalled out after about seven chapters of self-study, regardless of the language. I couldn't break through that 7-chapter barrier until I went to the country to be immersed.

A few years ago I became a Pimsleur believer. I loved how it set's a person up to know the feel and the rhythm of the language.

But now I find Pimsleur too slow. I think I finally cracked after French 2 spent four lessons - at least - on a dialogue about playing tennis. Now I'm trying an Assimil/FSI combination, and think I might use that moving forward. But I don't think this combination would've worked for me ten years ago!
4 persons have voted this message useful

Jeffers
United Kingdom
Joined 4668 days ago

2151 posts - 3960 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Hindi, Ancient Greek, French, Sanskrit, German

Message 210 of 376
21 July 2011 at 6:44pm | IP Logged 
I had similar trouble with Teach Yourself Hindi and Teach Yourself German. Chapter 7 seems to be where the difficulty began for me as well. What I did in both cases was to get the TY Beginner book, complete it, and then carry on with the regular TY book. In the case of Hindi, they work together well without too much overlap. But TY German and TY Beginner's German have almost identical topics.