Language Learning Forum : Learning Techniques, Methods & Strategies Post Reply
213 messages over 27 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 21 ... 26 27 Next >>

Iversen
Super Polyglot
Denmark
berejst.dk
Joined 6484 days ago

9078 posts - 16473 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Esperanto, Romanian, Catalan
Studies: Afrikaans, Greek, Norwegian, Russian, Serbian, Icelandic, Latin, Irish, Lowland Scots, Indonesian, Polish, Croatian
Personal Language Map

Message 161 of 213
25 November 2010 at 4:45pm | IP Logged 
I studied something in Bahasa Indonesia yesterday and noted down around fifty unknown words. Afterwards I did a Bahasa wordlist with around 100 words (using the layout I have described earlier in this forum), - including the 50 words from the text.

Afterwards I studied a text in Greek about Acropolis and jotted down something like a dozen words.

Have I learnt slightly above 100 Bahasa words yesterday? Well, from earlier tests I know that I can recognize and recall most of the words one day later when I do my repetition round, but that doesn't mean that they have become active. To make them active I normally have to meet them several times, and preferable also use them several times.

I do my repetition round with the translation into Danish as the basis precisely to strengthen my recollection of the foreign words, and without this round most of the words would just be forgotten. But with the repetition a fair proportion remain wellknown, though not necessarily active.

Actually I have never counted how many words I would remember alone from the Danish translation, - but it might be worth investigating. I would just have to make a list of the Danish words in a wordlist the first day and then try to recall the foreign words the next day, then I would know the proportion we are speaking about here.