11 posts - 17 votes
Speaks: English*, Afrikaans*
Studies: Mandarin, French

Message 89 of 221
13 January 2010 at 5:56pm | IP Logged 
laoshu505000 wrote:
NielDLR wrote:
Hey Moses!

You really are an inspiration. My first foreign language is also Mandarin. I was just
wondering, what was the most difficult language you studied? Is it even possible to
choose such a language?

Hi there,

It's difficult for me to say which was the ''hardest'' language to learn overall since
I look at each language by aspects. I would say that Vietnamese would be the hardest
for me in terms of pronunciation. In terms of writing, I would say Chinese, Japanese
and Thai. Grammar , I would say Arabic, Georgian and Russian.

I think all languages have their own aspect that makes the language difficult to learn.

How long have you been learning Chinese for?

Moses

Thanks for the answer.
I've been studying it for two years at University level, but it's nowhere near what it
should be. Going to really try and put more effort into it this year.
1 person has voted this message useful

Po-ru
Diglot
United States
Joined 5240 days ago

173 posts - 235 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese
Studies: Korean, Spanish, Norwegian, Mandarin, French

Message 90 of 221
22 January 2010 at 11:05am | IP Logged 
laoshu505000 wrote:
elvisrules wrote:
Hi Moses,

I see you are learning Yoruba. I would really like to study the language to fluency and
was wondering if you had any advice on learning the language. I didn't find an online
Yoruba learning community and resources seem very scarce. Are there are resources you
would recommend I purchase?

Thank you,

David

Hi there,

I have a really good Yoruba coursebook and dicrionary which I haven't made a video
about yet. I will make a video for you when I get back home from work.As far as online
community, I have yet to find one myself unfortunately. Talk to you soon.

Moses McCormick

Hey Moses, I am just wondering what Uyghur and Tibetan resources that you use. I have