Language Learning Forum : Language Learning Log Post Reply
3959 messages over 495 pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 7 ... 494 495 Next >>

Iversen
Super Polyglot
Denmark
berejst.dk
Joined 6483 days ago

9078 posts - 16473 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Esperanto, Romanian, Catalan
Studies: Afrikaans, Greek, Norwegian, Russian, Serbian, Icelandic, Latin, Irish, Lowland Scots, Indonesian, Polish, Croatian
Personal Language Map

Message 49 of 3959
09 December 2008 at 10:35am | IP Logged 
I would prefer to say that I once THOUGHT I was going to become a professional linguist, - I majored in French with grammar as my special area of interest and high notes. However I could see already in 1982 that job opportunities at the university level were few and difficult to get, so I studied economics instead and took a crash course in programming, and now I'm an IT consultant who just dabbles a little in language learning now and then.

Idiosyncratique: peculiar to one individual (in this case one language)
Postclitique: the adjective used about something that you attach to the end of something else
Agglutinative: adjective for a language that forms long compound words with elements that each has each own meaning.
Syncretique: adjective for a language that has endings etc. that each have a whole bunch of meanings
... and for the sake of completeness:
Isolating: said about languages whose words lack inflection. English is heading in that direction, Chinese is said to move away from that stage right now

Links to JonB:
The first description
A later description (page 4and 9)[/URL
The description in a wiki about language learning

Edited by Iversen on 09 December 2008 at 11:05am

1 person has voted this message useful

josht
Diglot
United States
Joined 6226 days ago

635 posts - 857 votes 
Speaks: English*, German
Studies: French, Spanish, Russian, Dutch

Message 50 of 3959
09 December 2008 at 10:42am | IP Logged 
Iversen wrote: